A New Direction

Okay, I’ve decided to take a new direction with this blog.  Actually, it’s not my idea but a challenge I am taking.

I have started a training course called The Quickstart Challenge.  The purpose of this course is to train on how to be an internet marketer, but the content can be applied to selling any business (or so I am told).  The course began on April 8, 2014, so I am a little late getting to the starting line.  The first week’s challenge is to start a blog about my experiences with the course and my venture into internet marketing/online business.  The course takes 5 weeks to complete with one course being given each week.  So far, I’ve gone through the first course only.

According to the training, the blog I start (or continue in my case) should be about my honest experiences.  So that is what I plan to do.  This starts with me stating why I want to go into business for myself and setting my first goal.

Currently I work at an tax and accounting firm.  I’ve spent the last three (really four) months working hard – very hard – for the owners with little to show for myself (I mean money wise).  Going it on my own has been a dream of mine for about 20 years, but I have lacked the confidence to do anything about it.  With my current circumstances, that must change.  You see, during tax season here in the U.S. (February 1 through April 15), work is steady and full time.  The owners of the company I work for, however, have decided that the staff should only work part time when it is not tax season.  So, like so many other Americans, I find myself underemployed.  Not good considering the fact that prices are rising steadily and the traditional job market is getting flooded with people like me.  On top of that, I am very frustrated as my hard work (okay, not my hard work alone) has allowed the owners to cut back their non-tax season work days to only three per week, with one of the owners currently spending a two-week vacation in Hawaii.  Not a really good motivator for keeping the staff happy.

Now, I’m not looking to get rich by becoming an internet marketer and starting my own online business, but making a decent living shouldn’t be unattainable.  With that said, my first goal is to actually get started.  So far, I do have two domain names and hosting for each but have yet to start getting things up and running.  One of my sites I have had for about two years, but I haven’t done anything with really except for learning how to use WordPress.  The other site I just got and haven’t yet begun to set up.  The site I’ve had for two years is socialyouonline.com.  The plan for this site is to advertise virtual assistant services (I have been an administrative assistant (secretary) for almost 25 years) and to help people with direct response marketing.  The other site (the one I just got) is ellieproducts.com.  This is where I plan on selling online products.

Until next time……..which I plan on being within the next week.